World War I- Chemical Weapons

Did you know that chemical weapons were first used in World War I? They were primarily used to injure and kill soldiers in trenches. One of the most gentle gasses was tear gas and one of the most severe was the mustard gas. Tear gasses were the first gasses to be used in battle and didn’t kill. They are called tear gasses because they irritate the eyes of soldiers.  Overall, tear gasses weren’t overly effective. The first harmful gas used in battle was chlorine. Soon, soldiers began wearing gas masks, making it nearly useless. Phosgene was the most deadly and effective gas used in World War I. This gas can allow a buildup of fluids in the lungs, leading to death. Because of all of these chemical weapons, World War I is sometimes called “the chemists’ war”. Death from gas can be described as slow but painful. Blindness, fever, pneumonia, and an elevated pulse are symptoms of being exposed to gas. Did you know that mustard gas caused victims to vomit, blister up, and have internal and external bleeding? These harmful chemicals are what people are referring to when they say that poison gas was used in the World War I. Chemical weapons played a big part in World War I and caused many deaths and injuries.

Story:  I am a 12 year old girl living in the time period of World War I. I am most afraid of chemical weapons. They can kill you and cause much harm to your body.  I’ve heard that it’s the first time they have used chemical weapons in battle! My father went to war and he is living in a trench, fighting for the allies. Sometimes I worry if he gets hurt because this war is like no other. There are chemical weapons, submarines, planes, and so many new technologies. The world is changing and the population is decreasing because of deaths. I can only hope that my family and I will be safe.

 

 

.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chemical_weapons_in_World_War_I

http://www.compoundchem.com/2014/05/17/chemical-warfare-ww1/

 

Leave a Reply

